Kathy Leonardo

Kathy Leonardo  Photo:Gregory Dahl

facebook3   Twitter

LA Art Party Newsletter

LAArtParty is an arts and entertainment website. Established in 2010, it is an online go-to guide for what's happening in and beyond the LA area - this includes dining, travel and more.

Founded by journalist, and "Blues Mama" Kathy Leonardo (a longtime performer), the campy site has an unusual slant which will keep you entertained. Leonardo has been writing for the past 15 years about various subjects for the Huffington Post, THRIVE GLOBAL, LA Weekly, etc.

Each month the LAArtParty staff, led by Kathy Leonardo decides which events will be featured. Posted at noon on the Thursday prior to the last week of the month, LAArtParty.com features the Top Ten Art Parties, plus other fun events each month. VIP subscribers find out ONE week prior to the public and receive discounts and invites to VIP parties throughout the year.

See Contact Page to find out how to become a VIP subscriber so you don't miss any more great ART Parties!! See Contact/Rates Page to find out how submit and promote your own events!

Google Ad

NewadsizeKathyLeonardo-MayorGarcetti

Mayor Garcetti

126x144 kathyandthemayor2-1

Former Mayor Villaraigosa, Levitated Mass LACMA

ADsize-Kathy and Jonathan Gold

Pulitzer Prize Winning Food Critic, Jonathan Gold

FINAL-KathyLeonardo-BernieTaupin

Bernie Taupin

ADsize-MartinMullandKL

Actor, Martin Mull

ADSIZEHerbAlpert

Herb Alpert

 Graham Nash

Graham Nash

Ed Moses

BillyAlBengston

Billy Al Bengston

Larry Bell

KlandNateBerkus

Nate Berkus

ArtistPix-Shag-

Shag

ArtistPix-JVHKL-1

John Van Hamersveld

AndyMoses

Andy Moses

Peter Alexander

Attaway

ArtistPix-DavidTrulli

David Trulli

Ellwood T. Risk

Final-cropped-stuartkusher-kathy

Stuart Kusher

BrookeHarker-kathyLeonardo-LeslieMiranda

Brooke Harker

125Sona

Sona Mirzaei

Jules Muck

LA ARTSHOW-2012

LA Art Show



On site with LA Art Party's Video team

First Fridays on AK

view on youtube.com

”Magic Circles” at MOCA

ad-depena

 Depena Productions
    Video Partner

Event Review: BODYTRAFFIC at the Broad!

Lobodytraffic1s Angeles-based BODYTRAFFIC contemporary dance company performed to a full-house audience at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica. The very well received program included three unique works: "3 Preludes," a preview of "Private Games: Chapter One," and the world premier of "Death Defying Dances."

See image: Melissa Bourkas & Guzman Rosado from "Death Defying Dances," photo by Joshua Sugiyama

"3 Preludes"
was performed to the music of George Gershwin with live accompaniment by pianist Inna Faliks. The dancers, wearing street clothes and moving with a range of fluidity and chaotic rhythms, evoked  bustling cityscape scenes and interactions. "3 Preludes" was choreographed by Richard Siegal with lightening design by Burke Wilmore and included performers Tina Finkelman Berkett, Joseph Kudra, Matthew Rich, and Guzmán Rosado

"Private Games: Chapter One (preview)," choreographed by Anton Lachky, integrated the tribal beats of Drums of the World with the classical music of Joseph Haydn, N.J. Zivkovic, B. Biskupstungna, Johann S. Bach.  We were transported into a strange and confusing alternative reality by the dancers as they evoked frenetic fleeting moments as they became immersed in interpersonal games and changing roles being played out in wonder and amusement through a cacophony of intense physical and verbal expression. Costumes were designed by Raquel Barreto, Anton Lachky, and BODYTRAFFIC with stage lighting by Burke Wilmore, and featured  performers Lillian Rose Barbeito, Tina Finkelman Berkett, Joseph Kudra, Lindsey Matheis, Matthew Rich, and Guzmán Rosado.

BODYTRAFFIC2ASee image: Tina Berkett & Joseph Davis from "Death Defying Dances," photo by Joshua Sugiyama

The program concluded with the world premiere of "Death Defying Dances" with choreography and costume design by
Yann Seabra and lighting design by Burke Wilmore and featuring the music of L.E. Freeman / Mann Holiner, J.C. Johnson and inspired by Judy Henske and her persona as "Queen of the Beats."  Henske's recorded provocative narration, song lyrics and bluesy vocal styling dominated the piece as the dancers, wearing colorful and fanciful costumes, portrayed and acted out the characters in her fabled story-lines.

BODYTRAFFIC exemplifies the best in a need to appreciate and support bringing live performances to the LA stage and call further attention to and nurture what is clearly a thirst for dance of all forms that helps us experience how to live and move together as our city life continues to be redefined and reimagined.

Review: All About that Bass...at the Angel City Jazz Festival

Four of the most innovative bass players in Los Angeles came together for Extreme Bass Night at this year's Angel City Jazz Festival which that took place in Santa Monica at The Edye at the Broad Stage. Each one of these masters demonstrated their virtuosity while showcasing the outer reach of the bass' musical range.
broad-bassnight-R-Bilow
Photo by Richard Bilow; Miles Mosley and drummer Tony Austin

The evening began with Mike Valerio, a veteran musician who can be heard on hundreds of television and movie scores. Mr. Valerio's solo set began with an impressive version of one of the Fugues from Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier. Then, he mentioned that he was in the studio recently with John Williams and proceeded to play a solo from that session that highlighted his brilliant classical and jazz chops. However, the highlight of the set was a version of Paul Simon's 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover. The song began with the musician creating a beat by banging on his bass. He then looped this beat, began slapping away at his bass and sang the song with a very strong, impressive soulful voice.

The second set featured the sonic experimentations of contrabass guitarist/composer Steuart Liebig who uses an extensive collection of pedals to create layers of sound that expand his sound palette. Mr. Liebig used brushes, mallets, cymbals, socket wrenches and other oddities to create unique musical textures. Though trained on the upright double bass, Liebig plays the electric six-string model – the contrabass guitar. The extra strings allow for more chordal possibilities in addition to being able to go lower and higher. Although at some times, it may have been challenging to hear, there was no doubt that Mr. Liebig's knows what he's doing and has a lot of fun doing it!
broad-bassnight-4players-bilow
Photo by Richard Bilow; Mike Valerio, Tim Lefebvre, Steuart Liebig and Miles Mosley

After a brief intermission, Tim Lefebvre's set showcased his avant-garde jazz/funk credentials. He has played with Tedeschi Trucks Band (his full-time gig), Chris Botti, Toto, Sting, Uri Caine and Donald Fagen. He's also one of the last bassist to record with David Bowie – his bass work is featured on "Blackstar." Mr. Lefebvre played a stylish looking, vintage, light blue Fender Jazz bass throughout his set and after a brief solo offering, beats wizard Troy Ziegler and keyboardist Rachel Eckroch joined him. The trio's evocative set over a civil rights speech set up a tension filled jam session that featured high pitched bass and keyboard solos that didn't stretch too far and always found their way back to the beat.

The fourth bassist to grace the stage was Miles Mosley – the bassist/co-founder of West Coast Get Down – the well-known collective of musicians that have put Los Angeles jazz on the map through their recent world tour with Kamasi Washington. Mosley has toured extensively across the globe with many artists including Lauryn Hill, Mos Def, and Herbie Hancock. He has successfully combined bow work, effects, and 'in-your-face' dexterity to give his instrument his own signature sound. He was joined on stage by Tony Austin – another member of the collective whose creative drumming is such a pleasure to hear and watch. These two musicians have been playing together so long there chemistry is unique. They are always locked in with each other creating a never ending groove that makes your head bob. The set featured a smoking version of Jimi Hendrix's "Voodoo Child," which was followed by Mosley's original "Abraham" – a brand, new single that is out now and will be featured on his new album in January 2017.
Broad-JazzFest-TimLefebvre-SteuartLiebig-byrichardBilow
Photo by Richard Bilow; Tim Lefebvre and Steuart Liebig

The night concluded with all four bassists along with their collaborators taking the stage for an experimental jam session where each bassist tried to outdo the other by seeing how many weird and wonderful sounds they could get out of their instruments. Of course, they threw in plenty of traditional shredding solos. In the end, it was clear that these guys all have the ability to uniquely communicate their expressions through the bass and to musically think "outside the box".

The Angel City Jazz Festival has consistently featured the most innovative and original national and international jazz musicians working today and hats off to them for putting together an adventurous night of improvised music. I can't wait for next year! Find out more here: http://angelcityjazz.com/ http://www.thebroadstage.com/

Event Review: Time for You to Get Down with the West Coast Get Down

Much has been written about the West Coast Get Down, a collective of musicians/friends from Los Angeles that are making a big noise in the music industry.  The band is composed of some of the best players on the planet, including bassist Stephen Bruner (better known by his stage name Thundercat) and his brother, drummer Ronald Bruner Jr., as well as bassist Miles Mosley, drummer Tony Austin, keyboard player Brandon Coleman, pianist Cameron Graves, trombonist Ryan Porter and saxophonist Kamasi Washington.
PianoBar-signOver the last seven years, the group has honed its craft at a little bar in Hollywood called “The Piano Bar.”  The little dive on Selma provided the musicians a home and a relaxed vibe that allowed them to practice their chops while writing a lot of music. In my opinion, it also made them one of the best live bands in the world!  Last week, the Piano Bar closed and the band came together to say goodbye to an old friend. 

They played two sets to a packed house mixing up originals and covers with their unique blend of jazz/funk that recalls Miles Davis, James Brown, Prince, and the Crusaders. 

Last year, after 5 years of dedicated work, saxophonist, Kamasi Washington released “The Epic” – a three-disc, 175-minute musical masterpiece recorded with a ten-piece band, choir and string section.  Upon its release, the band played a sold-out show at the Regent in downtown LA that was recorded by NPR.  Listen to it - CLICK HERE!

The sessions from “The Epic” resulted in numerous albums from other members of the group and the next one up is best player Miles Mosley who will release his album UPRISING in January 2017 on Alpha Pup / World Galaxy. Co-produced by Tony Austin and Barbara Sealy, the record features Washington, Austin, and fellow West Coast Get Down members Ryan Porter, Brandon Coleman, and Cameron Graves, as well as Dontae Winslow and the late saxophonist Zane Musa. Its lead single, “Young Lion” premiered last week - CLICK HERE!
westcoastgetdown-RBilowThe sessions from “The Epic” resulted in numerous albums from other members of the group and the next one up is best player Miles Mosley who will release his album UPRISING in January 2017 on Alpha Pup / World Galaxy. Co-produced by Tony Austin and Barbara Sealy, the record features Washington, Austin, and fellow West Coast Get Down members Ryan Porter, Brandon Coleman, and Cameron Graves, as well as Dontae Winslow and the late saxophonist Zane Musa. Its lead single, “Young Lion” premiered last week - CLICK HERE!

It may have been the last time to see the band at the Piano Bar – but, you can still see them play live.  In fact, Miles Mosley will be playing with Tony Austin on drums as part of the Angel City Jazz Festival’s Extreme Bass Night on Friday October 14th at 8pm at the Edye @the Broad Stage in Santa Monica.  While Kamasi Washington will be at the Segerstrom Center for the Arts in Costa Mesa on Saturday, October 8th and the Walt Disney Hall on Sunday, November 6th.

The West Coast Get Down is writing the future of jazz and you would be wise to catch these masters live in town before they take off again for another world tour!  Or, maybe you want to wait until they reopen the Piano Bar.

Melissa Chandon’s “American Weekend” Offers Warm Shades of Nostalgia!

On Saturday, June 25, I was at my usual art haunt...Bergamot Station Arts Center (in Santa Monica) rushing...while attempting to see as many new exhibitions as possible. As I barreled into Skidmore Contemporary Art to view a solo exhibition titled "American Weekend," featuring the paintings of Melissa Chandon, I noticed my stride slowed, and my frantic energy subsided. A wave of nostalgia hit me. The warm pastel hue of the paintings surrounded me as I took a moment to breathe in the exhibition. Memories of playing with my sister in the back of my family's old paneled station wagon popped into my head, along with fragmented snapshots of trips to state parks and sing-alongs in the car. "American Weekend" transported me back to when I was five with no agenda other than to live life and play.

-1-Huff-MelissaChandon-SkidmoreContemoraryArtPhoto courtesy of LAArtParty.com; Melissa Chandon at opening reception on June 25, 2016 at Skidmore Contemporary Art

I soon found the artist engaged in conversation with her fans. She was articulate, passionate, and open about her work. "I am captivated by the American landscape and road side vernacular," explained the artist, who has been painting since 1996. She revealed that her biggest inspiration was her teacher and friend, Professor Wayne Thiebaud, who urged her to 'never quit.' Chandon continued, "Thiebaud taught me to push forward with examination and determination so that I can continue to grow." At the age of 95, Thiebaud, who is still creating, is a shining example of this. Thiebaud's inspiration on the artist is evident, however Chandon has forged her own relationships with new subjects while implementing her own voice. "Take Red Rolls with its chrome and highlights," said the artist. "It has a glow much like a Thiebaud cupcake, served up on a yellow surface with a long cast shadow. It is here where I am fascinated by abstraction that I create movement. A good painting is one where the viewer can enter the pictorial surface, the eye is drawn in and is able to move about and then exit. Monet was an absolute pro at this feat."

-2-Huff-MelissaChandon-SurfWagonImage: Melissa Chandon, Surf Wagon, 2016, acrylic on canvas, 36" x 36"

Chandon said David Hockney has also had an impact on her. "The way Hockney handled water in a swimming pool is somewhat similar to how Thiebaud handled water in a drinking glass," explained Chandon. "Their ability to capture light is amazing. I like to think that we, as artists, borrow from those who came before us and hopefully we inspire others." Chandon herself is an adjunct professor, currently teaching at UC Davis. One can only assume her love of art and knowledge is in turn inspiring up and coming artists. She cited Andy Warhol, Joan Mitchell, Elaine de Kooning, Lee Krasner, Henri Matisse, Edward Ruscha, Richard Diebenkorn, and Chuck Arnoldi as additional influences.

She went on to say that she is fascinated with the post-world war birth of suburbia, particularly in Levitttown, Long Island, created by famed real estate developers Levitt and Sons. Automobiles are another source of attraction (as a subject) for the artist. "I feel I deeply appreciate beauty and fetishes and highly designed objects," added Chandon. "It is odd to me when you see a vintage car out on the road...say an orange 2002 BMW series. When you see them, they scream extinction and look as if they are a rare bird."

-3-Huff-MelissaChandon-OrangeBMW2002-48x48Image: Melissa Chandon, Orange BMW, 2015, acrylic on canvas, 48” x 48”

Art is so subjective, and as viewers, we bring our own history to what we see. For me, Melissa Chandon's "American Weekend" brings to mind happy family vacations and lazy summer days prior to the havoc introduced by the digital craze. "American Weekend" provides a glimpse into a story book that so many of my generation have shared. The artist appears to remark on our society's obsession with consumerism. The images Chandon portrays conjure up memories of family (in its purest form). Although she chooses not to paint people into her works, one cannot help but visualize one's own family home movies.

Chandon's work is rooted in realism juxtaposed against a backdrop of pure ebullience. The pastel palette further expounds on the playful serenity and nostalgic sentiment. "American Weekend" pays tribute to the patriarchal archetype...a simpler time when the phrase 'politically correct' had not yet been uttered.

-4-Huff-MelissaChandon-PostModern-Poolwith-DivingBoard-65x85-acrylic-on-canvasImage: Melissa Chandon, Post Modern Pool with Diving Board, 2016, acrylic on canvas, 61" x 85"

Chandon's work has been exhibited throughout the U.S. and internationally. Her paintings are in notable public and private collections such as Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco (de Young Museum Morgan Flagg Collection), Morris Graves Museum, Napa Valley Museum, Triton Museum of Art, University of New Mexico, Cancer Research Center, and more.

Chandon is currently represented by Caldwell Snyder Gallery in San Francisco, Hubert Gallery in New York, and Skidmore Contemporary Art in Los Angeles.

-5-Huff-MelssaChandon-Boat-for-Alex40x40-HRImage: Melissa Chandon, Boat for Alex, 2016, acrylic on canvas, 40" x 40"

Treat yourself...take a moment out of your busy schedule to breathe in the paintings of Melissa Chandon..."American Weekend" will transport you back to your childhood and offer a moment of respite from today's hectic over-stimulated world.

Skidmore Contemporary Art, Bergamot Station, 2525 Michigan Avenue #B-4, Santa Monica, CA 90404; The exhibition will remain on view through July 30, 2016;  http://skidmorecontemporaryart.com; http://melissachandon.com/

-6-Huff-MelissaChandon-Route-66-TeePee-Motel-40x40Image: Melissa Chandon, Route 66 Tee Pee Motel, 2016, acrylic on canvas, 40" x 40"

-3-Huff-MelissaChandon-RedRolls-48x48-acrylic-on-canvas
Image: Melissa Chandon, Red Rolls, 2015, acrylic on canvas, 48" x 48"

Event Review: The Revisionist at the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts!

The Revisionist produced by the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts is a very compelling plRevisionist-JesseEisenbergay running through Sunday April 17th.

Written by Jesse Eisenberg, the Oscar-nominated star of The Social Network and frequent contributor to The New Yorker, and directed by Robin Larsen, noted director of such plays as A Delicate Balance and Uncle Vanya at the Antaeus Company as well as being an Academy Award-winning filmmaker, The Revisionist is the story between a young American man, David and his older Polish cousin, Maria. David is a writer with a crippling case of writer’s block who goes to Poland to change his environment in hopes of being able to finish his book while visiting Maria, a woman in her seventies who is a holocaust survivor. They both have very different ideas of what this visit is about: David wants to be left alone while Maria is thrilled to have family visiting with her. She wants company. She wants to get to know him, to be with him, to share food and time with him. As the story unfolds, we learn of secrets, addiction, isolation and longing. The Revisionist invites us into this encounter and makes us question our own values and ideas about family, connection, what it means to be human, alienation and intimacy.

What is really interesting to me is how we, the audience are engaged in their encounter. The way the stage is set up in the middle of the room with about four rows in front of the stage and four rows behind, we share this intimate space together which is Maria’s very small apartment. I loved the impeccable scenic design by Tom Buderwitz who also created the scenic design for Casa Valentina which I recently saw. We see every detail and nuance of this cramped, European apartment - the longing and intimacy are palpable.

TRevisionist 59 LowReshe creative team for The Revisionist also includes costume designer Jocelyn Hublau Parker, lighting designer Leigh Allen, sound designer and music composition John Zalewski, casting director Beth Lipari, and production stage manager Elle Aghabala. All fell into place for a very memorable production. There’s still time to see The Revisionist, now through April 17, 2016!!

For more information about the actors, the production and the Wallis, please visit: http://TheWallis.org

Tickets: Single tickets: $50 (prices subject to change)

What: The Revisionist

Where: Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts, Lovelace Studio Theater, 9390 N. Santa Monica Blvd, Beverly Hills, CA, 90210
When: April 1 - 17, 2016: Tues - Fri 8pm; Sat 3pm & 8pm; Sun 2pm & 7pm
Phone: 310.746.4000
Website: http://TheWallis.org

Event Review: Masters of Taste at the Pasadena Rose Bowl!

Sunday, April 3rd was a beautiful day on the field of the Historic Pasadena Rose Bowl. On this lovely afterReview-MastersofTastenoon from 3 PM to 7 PM, we sampled and enjoyed some of LA's finest fare from 40 Master Chefs and restaurants, 25 craft cocktail bars, wineries, and breweries at Masters of Taste, a luxury food and beverage festival, with proceeds benefiting Union Station Homeless Services, an organization committed to helping homeless men, women and children rebuild their lives.

What an amazing day we had! Here are some highlights from our favorite culinary offerings. Our first taste of the day was from the Raymond 1886 Restaurant of Pasadena with two kinds of tacos - Yucatan grilled carrot and roasted duck - I really enjoyed the roasted duck - delicious!! Along with the tacos, we enjoyed a custom made margarita specialty cocktail made with Mescal, fresh lime and cilantro, topped off with a Cayenne sauce that made it taste a little smoky. It was spicy and smooth at the same time - Yum!

Review-MastersofTaste-Birch-foisgrasThe chicken liver and foie gras mousse (see image, left) served with a toasted crisp from Birch of Pasadena was incredible – it had a creamy texture with a port topping that was decadent and satisfying. We needed more of the crisps for double dipping.

Next we sampled braised pork cheek with Pea & sunchoke purée, crispy shallots and Pea vines from Hyde of West Hollywood. Also rich and delicious. We needed some wine to go with all these scrumptious tastes. I had a glass of Light Horse California Chardonnay from Jamieson Ranch Vineyards of Napa. It had a citrus aroma with a smooth finish and my friend enjoyed a glass of the Light Horse Cabernet that had an intense ruby color and flavors of berries and spices.

FroReview-MastersofTaste-Raymond-Alvarez-TocaMaderam Toca Madera of West Hollywood, we really enjoyed a citrus coconut salad which was completely vegan served with crispy banana in a small bamboo plate. Not only was it a beautiful presentation, it was completely compostable.

See image, right - Toca Madera's Chef Raymond Alvarez

The spicy Cypriot lamb meatball with shredded cabbage salad, tomato sauce and Tzatziki from Inotheke of Santa Monica had a really interesting flavor that I enjoyed a lot. It was definitely one of our favorites!

Another stand out was the sushi bowl with tuna, snapper, salmon and rice from Hamasaku of Los Angeles - had a delicious and delicate flavor - this was a popular dish among other attendees as well.

The Ceviche Vegetarian from Sangers & Joe of Pasadena was a real treat - crunchy endive, peas and avocado with a light lemon vinaigrette were just a few of the ingredients that made this dish so unusual, original and delicious!

It was time to try another glass of wine. Next was a delectable Viognier from Four Brix Winery of Santa Ynez called Smitten. I'd say after a couple sips, I was pretty smitten with this crisp and light white with a lovely floral aroma.

The fried chicken served on a sweet potato pancake with Gochujangbutter and maple syrup from Nighthawk Breakfast Bar of Hollywood was melt in your mouth delicious!!!

The Chilled English Pea Soup with Wood Sorrel from Wax Paper of Frogtown was so surprisingly flavorful, it tasted like spring!

Review-MastersofTaste-KellysKookiesOMG we have to talk about desserts!!! Favorites were the Buko Pandan Chia Seed Pudding from Creme Caramel of Sherman Oaks - so good - rich but also light and oh so creamy with a gorgeous purple color and crunchy topping!! And the assortment of Cookies from Kelly’s Kookies of Arcadia was wonderful (see image, left) - favorites were the Chocolate Dipped Macadamia Shortbread, the Raspberry Dreams and the Lemon Shortbread.

Next, we were treated to a 10 minute relaxing massage from Massage Envy. What a wonderful way to end this fabulous day! Visit the website and be sure to join us next year. https://mastersoftastela.com/

Event Review: CASA VALENTINA at the Pasadena Playhouse - Runs thru April 10, 2016!

CASA VALENTINA produced by The Pasadena Playhouse is not to be missed. Written by four time Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein, the iconic playwright of the Broadway hits Torch Song Trilogy, La Cage Aus Follies, and most recently Kinky Boots, and directed by David Lee, nine time Emmy Award winner of Frasier, CASA VALENTINA does not disappoint.
 
SPasadenaPlayhouse-Valentina2ee image (from left to right): Lawrence Pressman, Raymond McAnally, Mark Jude Sullivan, Christian Clemenson (standing), John Vickery and Robert Mammana (standing) in “Casa Valentina” at The Pasadena Playhouse. Photo by: Jim Cox Photography

Based on a true story, taking place in 1962 around the Dirty Dancing era, CASA VALENTINA is a little bungalow neatly tucked away at a colony in the Catskills, offering a haven for heterosexual men who want to be free to express themselves as their inner girls. At CASA VALENTINA, they can dress in their favorite dresses, lingerie and shoes and wear jewelry, makeup and wigs without judgment, and feel free among their peers in this loving, accepting cross-dressing community. There is a sense of camaraderie among this topnotch cast who all give heartfelt performances. As the story unfolds, we learn of a political scandal and event that will change everyone’s lives. CASA VALENTINA is funny, tragic, dramatic, surprising and compelling as we learn of this clandestine world, and are forced to think about questions of identity, love, fidelity and commitment.

In addition to the play, I loved the glamour, the fabulous costume design by Kate Bergh and the incredible stage and scenic design by Tom Ruderwitz - as the viewer, we get to see the entire house as each scene is occurring - rotating as sort of a voyeuristic doll-house for us to peer into.

SSat-Mar26-PasadenaPlayhouse-Valentinaee image (from left to right): James Snyder,  Valerie Mahaffey, Raymond McAnally and Robert Mammana in “Casa Valentina” at The Pasadena Playhouse. Photo by: Jim Cox Photography

The entire creative team for CASA VALENTINA also includes choreographer Mark Esposito, lighting designer Jared A. Sayeg, sound designer Philip G. Allen, wig, hair and makeup designer Rick Geyer and fight choreographer Mike Mahaffey. Kudos for an extraordinary job! Don’t miss CASA VALENTINA, now through April 10, 2016!!

Tickets range from $25 - $125. Click Here to purchase tickets.

What: Performance
Where: Pasadena Playhouse, 39 South El Molino Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91101
When: Tuesdays - Saturdays at 8pm; Saturday matinee - 4pm; Sunday mantinee - 2pm; Sunday evening show - 7pm through April 10, 2016
Phone: 626-356-7529
Website: http://www.pasadenaplayhouse.org/

Event Review: Roseanne Cash, the Broad Stage

On March 12, 2016, I attended a performance by singer/songwriter Rosanne Cash at the Eli & Edythe Broad Stage.

ThReview-RoseanneCash-byGeorgeWHarrise Americana singer/songwriter graced the stage with her husband, producer- guitarist John Leventhal. At first glance, one can tell she is a humble and affable performer, willing to allow the audience to see all of her.

Photo courtesy of George W. Harris

Her storytelling and camaraderie with her husband, pulled the audience in even more. Leventhal was impressive. His ability to carry the show with one acoustic guitar (with our without Cash's playing) was quite extraordinary. Cash joked that she experienced a thirty year wait between grammys and played an assortment of hits as well as some oldies too. Her humble attitude towards her music and the music business was quiet refreshing.

One of the best moments of the show was when she revealed the story behind one of the cuts off her latest CD The River & the Thread. It was originally an entirely different song written for Emmy Lou Harris. She overhead her husband John Leventhal and her ex-husband Rodney Crowell writing the song and fell in love with it. She loved it and begged for them to let her sing it...to no avail. As is custom in the music industry the song never did get recorded. It was then that she would ask to put her own words to it. At the time her son was doing a Civil War project for school and the singer decided to search for her family ancestry history online. She found Cash ancestors on both sides of the Civil War. Cash dove deep into the genealogy and found inspiration from her relative Mary Ann Cash...this was the basis for her lyric to accompany the beloved melody which would later become the song When the Master Calls the Roll.

SheSat-Mar12-BroadStage-RosanneCash-8 PhotoCredit ClayPatrickMcBride.jpeg peformed a touching rendition of "Sea Of Heartbreak" and "Etta's Tune," offering a lovely mix of both her earlier and current work. All in all, Roseanne Cash and John Leventhal delivered a wonderful performance. At the finale, the audience jumped to its feet.

Photo by Clay Patric kMcBride

I have only good things to say about the Eli & Edythe Broad Stage. I have attended shows before here and love the venue, which has a wonderful sound system. The location, (1310 11th St. Santa Monica CA 90401) is also easy to get to and the free parking is one more benefit to the venue. http://www.thebroadstage.com